Jakobstad Has Been Chosen Among Twelve Municipalities 


In August the Interreg Europe project Baltic Sea Region Cultural Pearls for more resilient cities and regions opened the application for the title BSR Cultural Pearl and participation in the programme for 2024.

Four municipalities in Ostrobothnia want to become a cultural pearl: Jakobstad, Kristinestad, Närpes, and Nykarleby. A jury consisting of external experts are choosing the first Cultural Pearls in the beginning of December.

During the pilot phase 25.10–16.11.2023 the chosen municipalities were working on an action plan for culture and resilience.

The four applicants who have handed in the most convincing action plans will be awarded the title BSR Cultural Pearl 2024 by an international jury. The four first Cultural Pearls are announced in the beginning of December. Every year four Pearls will be awarded and together they will create a network that continues to share knowledge.